Oakwood Police Department History

The Oakwood Police Department dates back to the 1920s when one officer served the small South Hall community. As the City has grown, the department has kept pace with it to meet the increasing need for service. The department has 21 employees, 20 sworn officers and one full-time clerk. The City’s population is currently 4700 residents.

Past Chiefs of Police

2019 to present - Chief Tim Hatch

1994 to 2019 - Chief Randall K. Moon

1986 to 1994 - Chief Manuel "Dan" Ford

1985 to 1986 - Chief Charlie Tipton

1984 to 1985 - Chief Alan Suttles

1980 to 1984 - Chief Clarence Sullens

1976 to 1979 - Chief Charlie Tipton

Oakwood Police Department Mission Statement

The mission of the Oakwood Police Department is to guarantee the safety and security of our community through dedicated and professional service and by building and maintaining strong community relationships.