close menu
This website uses cookies to store your accessibility preferences. No personal / identifying information is stored. More info.

Departmental History

The Oakwood Police Department dates back to the 1920s when one officer served the small South Hall community. As the City has grown, the department has kept pace with it to meet the increasing need for service. The department has an authorized staff of 25 employees including 24 sworn officers and one full-time clerk. The City’s population is currently 5,000 residents.

Past Chiefs of Police

  • 2019 to present - Chief Tim Hatch
  • 1994 to 2019 - Chief Randall K. Moon
  • 1986 to 1994 - Chief Manuel "Dan" Ford
  • 1985 to 1986 - Chief Charlie Tipton
  • 1984 to 1985 - Chief Alan Suttles
  • 1980 to 1984 - Chief Clarence Sullens
  • 1976 to 1979 - Chief Charlie Tipton
Oakwood Police Department Mission Statement

The mission of the Oakwood Police Department is to guarantee the safety and security of our community through dedicated and professional service and by building and maintaining strong community partnerships.